The Emory College Language Center was founded in 2000 to provide support for the teaching and learning of languages and cultures at Emory. Emory University's language departments teach 19 curricular languages. Our Center provides faculty and students with technology facilities and staff, language lab and classrooms, faculty consultation and development, lecture events, and online learning resources.

Working with the Emory Program in Linguistics we also support the needs of students learning Less-Commonly Taught Languages (LCTLs) not currently taught in the curriculum, through the SILS program.

 The 19 curricular languages are housed in the following departments:

Department of Classics

  • Greek, Latin

English as a Second Language (ESL for Graduates)

English as a Second Language (ESL for Undergraduates)

Department of French and Italian

Department of German Studies

  • German, Yiddish

MESAS: Department of Middle Eastern and South Asian Studies

  • Arabic, Hebrew, Hindi, Persian, Sanskrit, Tibetan

REALC: Russian and East Asian Languages and Cultures

  • Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Russian

Department of Spanish and Portuguese

  • Portuguese, Spanish