About The Emory College Language Center

Our Mission

The Emory College Language Center contributes to the fulfillment of Emory's commitment to international education by promoting the teaching and learning of languages as an essential component of the intellectual experience of students and faculty at Emory College. To achieve this goal the Emory College Language Center:

  • Encourages innovation in language pedagogy by providing faculty with opportunities for professional development
  • Fosters the intellectual growth of faculty by supporting research in disciplines that involve language learning and teaching
  • Enhances the effectiveness of language learning and teaching through the integration of language pedagogy and technology
  • Promotes further understanding of world cultures by providing students with opportunities to experience these cultures both on campus and beyond
  • Encourages and recognizes excellence in language teaching and learning by faculty and students

Staff

The Emory College Language Center was established in 2000 to work closely and collaboratively with the Emory College language departments, Emory's Library & Information Technology Services, and the Center for Teaching and Curriculum to facilitate and support language instruction and to advance our understanding of language pedagogy.

Dr. Jon Master
Director
222F Candler Library
jmaste@emory.edu
404-727-4988
sarahshortt
Sarah Shortt
Program Coordinator 
Woodruff Library 421A
sshortt@emory.edu
404.727.8319

 

The Emory College Language Center Executive Committee Fall 2020

Gehane Shehata Arabic

gshehat@emory.edu

Yi Wang Chinese

yi.wang3@emory.edu

Jane O'Connor ESL

JCOCONN@emory.edu

Alexander Mendes French

alexmendes@emory.edu

Didem Uca German

didem.uca@emory.edu

Pazit Kahlon Hebrew

pazit.kahlon@emory.edu

Brajesh Samarth Hindi

brajesh.samarth@emory.edu

Christine Ristaino Italian

cristai@emory.edu

Mizuki Mazzotta Japanese

mizuki.mazzotta@emory.edu

Bumyong Choi Korean

bumyongchoi@emory.edu

Yun Kim Linguistics

yun.kim@emory.edu

Hossein Samei Persian

hsamei@emory.edu

Ana Teixeira Portuguese

ana.teixeira@emory.edu

Vera Proskurina Russian

vprosku@emory.edu

Elva Gonzalez Spanish

egonza3@emory.edu

Tsepak Rigzin Tibetan

trigzin@emory.edu